H.M. Lord Lieutenant of West Glamorgan

Queen’s Awards

Following the accession of His Majesty King Charles III, the titles of these awards may be subject to change

The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service

The Queen’s Award for Voluntary Service is the highest award given to voluntary organisations across the United Kingdom for outstanding work undertaken in their communities and is equivalent to an MBE.

Further details can be found on: Gov.uk

The Queen’s Award for Enterprise & Enterprise Promotion

The Queen’s Award for Enterprise is a highly prestigious award for outstanding achievement by UK Businesses in the categories of Innovation, International Trade and Sustainable Development and Promoting Opportunity Through Social Development.

The awards are made annually and are only given for the highest levels of excellence. They are judged to a demanding level and winners receive a number of benefits and worldwide recognition.

Previous corporate winners have come from a diverse selection of business sectors and have included large and small businesses. Recipients of the individual award have been from varied social and professional backgrounds.

The closing date for entries is in the 6th September each year and the winners are announced on 21st April the following year.

For an application form and to find out more, including whether your business meets the necessary criteria, visit the Queen’s Awards for Enterprise and Enterprise Promotion Website.

The Elizabeth Cross

The Elizabeth Cross and Memorial Scroll is an Award granted to the Next of Kin of UK Armed Forces personnel who have died on operations or as a result of an act of terrorism in national recognition of their loss and sacrifice. The emblem demonstrates tangible recognition for Service families for their loss.

The reverse of the cross is engraved with the name of the Service person in whose memory it is granted.

All eligible next of kin of those who died between 1st January 1948 and present day, or as a result of service in Palestine since 27th September 1945, are eligible to apply. Next of kin can apply for both the Elizabeth Cross and Memorial Scroll or in the case of retrospective claims where the next of kin is deceased, their legal successor may apply.

The Next of Kin will be offered the opportunity for the Elizabeth Cross and Memorial Scroll to be presented in an appropriate way. The presentations may be made by the Lord Lieutenant for an area or by a senior military representative or as part of a regional presentation.

Application forms and further guidance can be obtained from the Gov.UK website.