H.M. Lord Lieutenant of West Glamorgan

The County of West Glamorgan

Map showing the Preserved County of West Glamorgan

West Glamorgan is a preserved county and former administrative county of Wales, one of the divisions of the ancient County of Glamorgan.

West Glamorgan was created on the 1st April 1974 by the Local Government Act 1972 from the county borough of Swansea, the municipal boroughs of Neath and Port Talbot, the urban districts of Glyncorrwg and Llwchwr, Gower rural district, Pontardawe rural district and all of Neath rural district except the parish of Rhigos.

West Glamorgan had four districts until 1996, namely:-

  • Swansea – Swansea County Borough and Gower rural district
  • Lliw Valley – Llwchwr and Pontardawe rural districts
  • Neath – Neath and Neath rural district
  • Port Talbot – Port Talbot and Glyncorrwg

Following the Local Government (Wales) Act, 1994, West Glamorgan County Council was abolished on the 1st April 1996 and its area sub-divided into the two unitary authorities of The City and County of Swansea and Neath Port Talbot County Borough.

West Glamorgan remains in existence as a preserved county for some limited functions such as the Lieutenancy and the Shrievalty.